Fear

Natasha Malpani Oswal
1 min readJul 26, 2020
Credit: Self

I wake up
in a cold sweat
have we locked the doors?
we’re alone here-
what if someone
breaks in?

the man lying
next to me
sleeps on
what if he tries
but can’t defend me?
what if handing over
our possessions doesn’t help?

if they want more
who will they go for?
an object to be
played with, touched,
thrown, trashed
if they hurt me,
will they at least let me live?

I wake him up
and tell him this
sleepily, he dismisses me
this is
not his reality
he doesn’t look
over his shoulder
when he walks down
the road
he doesn’t think
twice about the darkness
or his exposed toes

he shuts his eyes
and breathes easily
And I lay awake
sweating/sleepless
to be a woman
is to live in fear?

--

--

Natasha Malpani Oswal

vc. investing in startups + stories for a new india author of reinvention and boundless. aspiring yogi.